West’s Hughes and East’s Berndt Earn First-Team Honors for the 2022 All-Wisconsin Valley Conference Softball Team

Wausau Driver and Review

Wasuau West sophomore Autumn Hughes and Wausau East rookie Baley Berndt have been named to the first team of the 2022 All-Wisconsin Valley Conference Softball Team.

Marshfield senior pitcher Courtney Donahue was named player of the year.

Donahue was 10-1 with a 1.23 ERA and 93 strikeouts in 74 innings for Marshfield, which won its first conference championship since 1997. She also finished third in the conference in average at bat (.476) and third in RBI (15), with five doubles and a home run.

Senior third baseman Loryn Jakobi was also a first-team pick for Marshfield as she struck. 381 with nine RBIs.

Stevens Point’s Zoe Fink, Kaitlyn Klismith and Maddy Miklesh, and Wisconsin Rapids’ Megan Clary, Hayley Wagner, Meghan Jochimsen and Rhiannon Carroll complete the first-team selections.

Bendt led the conference in batting at .517, while Wagner led the WVC in homers with four and RBI with 18 while batting .462 to tie Fink for fifth in the conference.

Hughes led West batting .433 and scored eight runs, seven stolen bases and three RBIs.

Dakota Witucki, Addison Kluck and Paige Kislow of DC Everest, and Claire Coushman of East were among the second team picks.

2022 All-Wisconsin Valley Conference Softball Team
(* indicates unanimous selection)
first team
*Zoe Fink, senior, Stevens Point; *Megan Clary, sr., Wisconsin Rapids; *Hayley Wagner, sr., Wisconsin Rapids; Loryn Jakobi, sr., Marshfield.
Voltigeurs: *Kaitlyn Klismith, Fr., Stevens Point; *Meghan Jochimsen, sr., Wisconsin Rapids; Autumn Hughes, So., Wausau West.
Seeker: Maddy Miklesh, Sr., Stevens Point.
Pitchers: *Courtney Donahue, Sr., Marshfield; *Rhiannon Carroll, Jr., Wisconsin Rapids.
Utility: *Baley Berndt, fr., Wausau Est.
second team
Claire Coushman, N/A, East Wausau; Dakota Witucki, So., DC Everest; Sawyer Holberg, Jr., Wisconsin Rapids; Ashlynn O’Neal, Sr., Stevens Point.
Voltigeurs: Brooklyn Bohman, Sr., Marshfield; Laney Zuelsdorff, Sr., Merrill; Kyla O’Neal, senior, Stevens Point.
Seeker: Madalen Bornbach, sr., Marshfield.
Pitchers: Addy Schmeltzer, Jr., Merrill; Addison Kluck, Fr., DC Everest.
Utility: Paige Kislow, Sr., DC Everest.
Honorable mention
Nicole Doering, Sr., Merrill; Emma Raikowski, Sr., Stevens Point; Claire Calmes, Fr., Wausau West; Sandy Costa, Sr., Marshfield; Riley Zuleger, Sr., DC Everest.
Voltigeurs: Brooke Swiecki, Sr., Stevens Point; Sydney Spear, Fr., DC Everest; Emily Friday, Jr., Wisconsin Rapids; Shylah Brogan, So., Marshfield; Savannah Spees, Jr., East Wausau; Dani Korman, Sr., Merrill.
Seekers: Kendall Ziegahn, Jr., Wisconsin Rapids; Sophia Peissig, sr., Wausau West.
Pitchers: Maren Sauvageau, N/A, Stevens Point; Maddy Krueger, Sr., East Wausau; Allison Kirsch, N/A, Wausau West; Delilah Abundiz, so.,. Point Stevens.
Utility: Olivia Losee, sr., Merrill.
Player of the Year: Courtney Donahue, Marshfield.
Coach of the Year: Becky Linzmeier, Marshfield.

About Marc Womack

Check Also

Wisconsin 2022 Election Results – The New York Times

Kitchens*incumbent representing Republican sortwell*incumbent representing Republican tusler*incumbent representing Republican Undisputed Steffen*incumbent representing Republican Van Deurzen …