Kevin Garnett joins Milwaukee High School Sports Awards


NBA Champion, MVP and Naismith Memorial Class of 2020 Basketball Hall of Fame Inductee Kevin Garnett will announce the basketball winners at the Milwaukee High School Sports Awards. Garnett joins a roster of recently released high profile athletes and celebrities who will be part of the show.

The Milwaukee High School Sports Awards are part of the nation’s largest high school athletic recognition program. The top athletes from most state-sanctioned sports will be honored on an on-demand broadcast at 7:00 p.m. Central on June 30 on the event site.

After:Shaquille O’Neal and Sue Bird to Announce Athlete of the Year at Milwaukee High School Sports Awards

The Minnesota Timberwolves selected Kevin Garnett with their fifth overall pick in the 1995 NBA Draft, becoming the first NBA player drafted straight out of high school in 20 years. Known for his intensity, defensive skills and versatility, Garnett is considered one of the greatest forwards of all time. He is one of four NBA players to win MVP and Defensive Player of the Year awards. Garnett was named to 15 All-Star Games, winning the All-Star MVP award in 2003, and is currently tied for the third most All-Star selections in NBA history.

The show will be hosted by Laura Rutledge and Desmond Howard.

Hailing from Florida and Miss Florida 2012, Rutledge is now attracting viewers as a host of ESPN’s NFL Live and SEC Network’s SEC Nation. She anchored SportsCenter and hosted the red carpet cover at the Home Depot College Football Awards and ESPYs. Rutledge is a mainstay of ESPN’s extensive championship coverage surrounding the college football playoffs, the NCAA Women’s Gymnastics Championships, and the Women’s College and World Series. She is also an ambassador for the Miracle League, an organization that builds baseball fields for children with disabilities.

A Heisman Trophy winner and Super Bowl XXXI MVP, Howard joined ESPN as a college football analyst after 11 seasons in the NFL. A three-sport star from Cleveland, Ohio, Howard secured the wide receiver role for the University of Michigan, where he won the Heisman Trophy, the Maxwell Award, the Walter Camp Award and the First Team All-American Honors. He was selected fourth overall in the 1992 NFL Draft by the Washington Redskins and went on to play for the Green Bay Packers, where he became the only Super Bowl MVP to win the designation purely on performance. special teams. In 2011, Howard was elected to the College Football Hall of Fame.

Hockey Athletes of the Year will be announced by Martin St. Louis.

Undrafted in college, Hockey Hall of Fame member St. Louis has played more than 1,000 games and scored 1,000 points in his 16-year NHL career. St. Louis spent most of his career (13 seasons) with the Tampa Bay Lightning, leading the team to the 2004 Stanley Cup Championship and retiring as the all-time franchise top scorer. He is a two-time silver medalist at the World Championships and won gold at the 2014 Winter Games for Team Canada.

The Golf Athletes of the Year will be announced by Ryan Palmer.

After graduating from Amarillo High School, Ryan Palmer, a native of Texas, continued to play golf at Texas A&M University, where he was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2016. Four years after graduation Upon graduation, Palmer earned his PGA Tour card and marked his first career PGA Tour winner that same year at the 2004 FUNAI Classic at Walt Disney World Resort, where he defeated Vijay Singh. Since then he has won four PGA Tour tournaments. Palmer established the Ryan Palmer Foundation in 2004 with the mission of creating opportunities for children through access to education, personal care and personal development.

Bowling will be announced by Chris Barnes, a Topeka, Kansas native, who claims 19 PBA Tour titles during his bowling career. The 2018 PBA Hall of Fame inductee is one of seven professional bowlers to win the triple crown.

Imani McGee-Stafford, who set records playing college basketball for the University of Texas before being drafted 10th overall by the Chicago Sky in the 2016 WNBA Draft, will announce the I AM SPORT award winners. His strength off the pitch is what inspired a lot of him. She received the Honda Inspiration Award for overcoming adversity and returning to the game, while advocating for mental health awareness through her personal story. Now continuing his law studies, McGee-Stafford’s relatives call him the “definition of inspiration.”

The I AM SPORT Award honors student-athletes who have demonstrated leadership outside of competition, giving of their time through acts of service to their community.

The Milwaukee High School Sports Awards are a multi-month student-athlete recognition program. Due to COVID-19 safety precautions for students and guest speakers, the event has been converted to an on-demand show for 2021. The winner’s selections for state-sanctioned sports, all of which are featured in broadcast, are announced throughout the year on the event site.

The show will be free to watch on any smartphone or computer thanks to local business sponsors. Winners must register on the show website to reserve their free athlete gift box. Entries are also used to send awards to winners after the show.

Other athletes joining the program that were previously announced include:

  • Aaron Rodgers, three-time NFL MVP
  • Alex Morgan, two-time football champion of the FIFA World Cup
  • Katie Ledecky, five-time Olympic gold medalist in swimming
  • Olympic gold medalist and four-time world ski champion Lindsey Vonn
  • Alex Smith, 2020 NFL Returning Player of the Year
  • Kerri Walsh Jennings, three-time Olympic gold medalist
  • Chipper Jones Baseball Hall of Fame
  • Laurie Hernandez, United States gold and silver medalist in women’s gymnastics
  • Three-time pro bowler and two-time outside linebacker TJ Watt in the All-Pro first team
  • Most successful tennis player of the open era Martina Navratilova
  • Jennie Finch, Olympic Gold and Silver Medalist and World Softball Champion
  • Fourteen-time National Cheer Coach Champion Monica Aldama
  • Amanda Magadan, United States National Women’s Field Hockey Team midfielder
  • Three times MVP, world champion and co-founder of the Premier Lacrosse league Paul Rabil

Top high school athletes, coaches and teams from select state-sanctioned sports in the United States will be featured in the premier USA TODAY High School Sports Awards. The statewide athlete of the year winners will be among the national winners.


About Marc Womack

Check Also

Construction equipment stolen from Milwaukee Avenue business – Chicago Tribune

The following is taken from Glenview Police Department reports, press releases and records. An arrest …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.